Meet the Senators

The Senate of Canada is the upper house of the Parliament of Canada. The Senate is modeled after the British House of Lords and consists of 105 members appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister.

Seats are assigned on a regional basis: four regions—defined as Ontario, Quebec, the Maritime provinces, and the Western provinces—each receives 24 seats, with the last nine seats allocated to the remaining portions of the country: six to Newfoundland and Labrador and one each to the three northern territories. Senators serve until they reach the mandatory retirement age of 75. [1]

Click on the portraits below for a biography and history of the respective Progressive Senate Group members.

Filter by Province or Territory